Rashid Khan : the silken voice

Being an ardent fan of Rashid Khan, maestro of the Rampur-Sahaswan Gharana, I can’t resist putting more songs of him on this blog. He is one of the best among the contemporary vocalists and his effortless singing and silk like voice just keeps me spellbound.

Gorakh Kalyan – Tum Bin – Kab Ghar Aayo :  (Download)

Kiravani – Brij Ke Nandlala Tore Bina Mohe Chain :  (Download)

Malkauns – Tu Hai Malik Mero – Yaad Aavat Mohe :  (Download)

Maru Bihag – Piya Nahin Ghar – Tarpat Raina Dina :  (Download)

Raga Deshkar – Unako Hi Tore Karan :  (Download)

Ahir Bhairav – Rasiya Mhara – Albela Sajan Aayo :  (Download)

Enjoy !!

39 Comments

  1. July 7, 2008 at 11:05 am

    A really good collection of Rashid Khan Music. I check his website but couldn;t find any music to listen.

    Really Enjoyed & downloaded further to listen it. Before this i had listened to Rashid Khan in ITC SRA Website.

  2. शिरीष कुमार मौर्य said,

    August 30, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    great

  3. Alap said,

    September 20, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Thanks for posting this. Ustad is truly unique I am so drawn to his music amazing voice beautiful rendition. Please post more music from Rashid Khan.

  4. shakila ahmed said,

    November 4, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    finding this was like hitting upon a hidden treasure chest. i absolutely worship ustad rashid khan..and gorakh kalyan is my all time favorite raag. thanks for posting. people shd have access to raags easily so indian classical can be made as popular as possible. do post his yaman and bageshree pls.

  5. Sunder Singh, B.G. said,

    December 2, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    One of the best vocal renditions of Gorakh Kalyan! Great.

  6. Arvind Kulkarni said,

    December 3, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    Raga Gorakh Kalyan’s presentation is just amazing.I heard this raga recently at Thane.What a voice! Great-Great & Great.

  7. Bhasu Panchal said,

    December 12, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    Just Mind Blowing !!!!!!!!! HISTORY !!!!

  8. nasim rizvi said,

    December 21, 2008 at 2:01 am

    I LOVE HIS MAJESTIC VOICE AND HIS POWERFUL,LIGHTENING,SWIFT taa ns UNIMAGINABLE
    UNTIL ACTUALLY HEARD.
    I FEEL FORTUNATE THAT I HEARD HIM VERY RECENTLY.
    I LOVE EVERYTHING HE SANG AND SINGING.
    HIS MUSIC IS MY LIFE.
    NASIM RIZVI

  9. nasim rizvi said,

    December 21, 2008 at 2:03 am

    he is amazing.

  10. Shailesh said,

    February 3, 2009 at 12:31 am

    I don”t know even the abc of Indian Classical Music.
    But still, as a simple listner
    I always feel the glory in the voice of Rasheed Saa’b.
    It’s heavenly voice.
    May I regard you sir, please?

  11. indianraga said,

    February 3, 2009 at 9:16 am

    @ Shailesh
    You are not alone….I too belong to the tribe of novices of hindustani classical music. Moreover, like you, I too am a big fan of Rashid Khan.

  12. m.tanzeembutt said,

    February 7, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    rashid khan is nodoubt after the demise ustad bade ghulamali khanis asinger
    who has entire grip over micro tones and sub tones inhis vocal design
    having a full throated voice with variations and improvisational blend

  13. AMITESH BISWAS said,

    March 8, 2009 at 8:00 am

    LEARNING STARTS FROM LISTENING . THE GODLY VOICE OF USTAD RASHID KHAN INSPIRES ME TO BECOME A MUSIC DEVOTEE

  14. zakir hussian said,

    March 8, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I really feel the strength of his powerfull voice, the tansen of millenium.

  15. Jeevanlal R. Patel said,

    March 26, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Indian classical is the only thing tolisten on this planet.
    Rashid Khan is GEM.
    I could not see miyan Tansen. I can understand he must be perfoming. I feel blessed listening his voice. God is great. Allaho Akbar.

  16. Indraneel said,

    April 9, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    His voice can’t be defined, it is heavenly, his sargams are explicit & heart throbbing, his transformations from one tune to another one is spontaneous

  17. bhuvaneshwar singh said,

    June 9, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    sir
    the music u have put up is excellent. one cant have enough
    i want the album naina piya se
    if u have it could u upload it please

    thanx

  18. indianraga said,

    June 9, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    I have uploaded ‘Naina Piya Se‘ on my eSnips account :

    http://www.esnips.com/user/guptaagra

    Find the songs in the Indian.Raga.Fusion folder.

  19. Jeevanlal Patel said,

    June 17, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    Simply heavenly music of rashid Khan.
    Rashid Khan is future of indian classical.
    No gap after Bhimsen. Lot of hopes. God is great

  20. Raj Nagaraj said,

    September 6, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Indian Raga I sincerely thank Indian Raga. You have provided me a great oppotunity to enjoy the music og great Stalverts. I love to listen to Rashid Khan and have only three CDs.

    How I can be of help to keep this service to the Music on Going.

    Raj

  21. indianraga said,

    September 6, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Keep visiting… this will be of great help. 🙂

  22. shekhar kawale said,

    September 19, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    when i first visited this blog, i felt like i am in the midst of like minded people.
    i am a die hard ‘kansen’. while visiting this blog, i felt like i am in some alladin’s cave. so much khajana everywhere!!! and some rare gems, too!!!
    by starting this as a hobby, you are doing great service to the indian classical music as many young people are getting the sweet taste of this treasure.and the idea of letting people download all that is available is simply great!
    THANKS!!

  23. shaam said,

    October 22, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Ustad Rashid Khan is the greatest. His rendering of tarana in jhinjoti raga is exquisite. A must listen! For gorakh kalyan, please do listen Parween Sultana Charana Dharo………out of this world!

  24. shaam said,

    October 22, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Does anyone have raga shankara sung by Ustad Rashid Khan?

  25. Dilip Parmar said,

    January 27, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    What a singer he is !!! Amazing and wornderful,,I love his voice so much,,
    God Bless you and keep you so happy,

  26. harasija mandal said,

    March 1, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Rashid Sab’s Vocal Tune and style to singing is fantastic and lovely experience too. Thunri and gazal I wish to take experience from his sweet vocal songs. with best wishes. H.Mandal .

  27. July 1, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    I am Sri.Saroj Kumar Singh – Tabla Artist Complited my Sangit Visarad by Calcutta University I am regular lisener of different type of Ragas og Guru dev Rashid Ji , Iam totily crazy of his Voice , Maa Sharde completly sat on his Tounge , As far as in my concern ,at present time Gurudev Rashid Ji singing tecnic is very a rare tune in World of Classical Music ,his Alankaar Voice do the across of my heart just like to feel to sat in the leg down of Vishnu.

  28. Arindam Dasgupta said,

    February 19, 2011 at 12:51 am

    Guruji’s voice is immortal.

  29. vinodmehra said,

    April 17, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    i have just heard rashid khan sahib in kamani delhi,house was jam packed,bahut accha gaya,ab to listener bad gaye hai.

  30. Sourav said,

    May 22, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Thanks lot to post such an awesome production of ustad ji. I m very much fan of his magic voice. I worship his music. This is my earnest requst to u to post Raag Yaman, Raag Bihaag, Raag Bageshree and Raag Yog… Thanks once again.

  31. swapnil said,

    August 10, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Thanks a lot….i was searching for maaru bihag sung by ustad ji…it is my favourite one

  32. abani deka said,

    October 28, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    ustad ji jab apko jab sunta hu toh mere akho se ansu nikl atein hain .

  33. Sunder Singh, B.G. said,

    December 25, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I wrote on December 2, 2008 that therendition of raga, Gorakh Kalyan is just great. Did I change my mind? No, its still great.

  34. February 24, 2012 at 10:39 am

    very rare recordings. detail n deep feel of raga.god bless you.. we are lucky to get yhis type of recordings free on NET.

  35. jaspal ahluwalia said,

    June 15, 2012 at 8:33 am

    Great listening. Thanks.

  36. Sunder Singh B.G. said,

    September 27, 2012 at 9:15 am

    Pity that people do not listen listen to this great rendition!

  37. husain Shoeb said,

    December 13, 2012 at 11:04 am

    Soothing and sound balance of vocal rendition with perfect male voice, enchants me likewise………..

  38. Anupom,Dhaka said,

    March 8, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    Amazing. Heavenly.

  39. Narendra Astik said,

    June 25, 2013 at 12:37 pm

    I don’t have words to express my feelings hearing Great Vocalist Ustad Rashid Khan Saheb…..I am novice and started learning Indian Classical Music by playing harmonium. Since, long time I am searching Alap, Taan, Gat in various raags (I mean in swaras and not in vocal or instrumental). Would you please guide me from where I can get it?


Leave a Reply

