phut phut phut, click click click

Phut Phut Phut is what it sounded like. A seemingly harmless noise coming from somewhere around me, almost similar to what came from the Morse code telegraph machines in the post offices of olden days. It was 7th of July, in the afternoon, when I was preparing to post something interesting for you folks, some nice music that I thought you all would love to listen. Before I could understand the meaning of the sound it was all gone. The sound was coming from my 6 month old 320 GB Seagate FreeAgent Go USB 2.0 Portable hard disk. I immediately pulled off the cable and tried to plug it again. The Phut Phut sound was no more there and I sighed with relief. Maybe it was nothing but a temporary glitch with the hard disk, I thought. After all it was a Seagate drive and almost a new one at that. Click Click Click it sounded again, a low volume sound just like the ticking of a wall clock and I went numb with fear. My worst of nightmares came true. Yes, it was COD (click of death), as it is known in the techie world. My hard disk was dead. All the songs were gone forever.

It was only a few months back, that I thought it was a good idea to put all my songs collection, scattered all over into small capacity hard disks, into a new and bigger hard disk. I went for the best brand in the market, Seagate that is, and moved all the songs, some 60,000 of them (300 GB), into this one. I then moved all the useless crap spread all over my computer into the smaller drives. Backup, Backup and Backup is the mantra of the digital world and I was foolish enough to have ignored it. I can only curse Seagate, for producing such inferior products and also myself for not listening to the digital mantra all these years. I am now left with the useless crap that I thought at that time, was a wise thing to store in the smaller and older (but more reliable) hard drives. Of course Seagate will replace the hard disk with a new one, but minus the songs.

Moral of the story : Always keep two copies of your data, but on two different brands of disks.

Jackass of the year : I bought a brand new disk today, again a Seagate FreeAgent Go (this time 500 GB). Also waiting for the replacement of the dead disk from Seagate. That makes a total 820 GB. Wow!

Will be back soon.

indianraga

13 Comments

  1. sharbori said,

    July 13, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    wow!! that is one scary tale. I hope you do get back your songs as it would be a loss to all of us as well. Is there any way to get back your stuff from some other source?

  2. connoisseur said,

    July 14, 2010 at 1:56 am

    Oh my God!!!

  3. ps said,

    July 14, 2010 at 11:51 am

    We are glad to know that ur treasure of classical msic is safe. Look forward to many more gems of music from you.

  4. KATPITIA said,

    July 15, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    Sorry for your collossal LOSS of MUSIC which we used to enjoy so much .I was always waiting for your fresh posting to hear some wonderful and rare selection.Do continue the good work as soon as M/s Seagate give you the replacement .Yours sincerely Farrokh Katpitia (katpitia@hotmail.com)

  5. indianraga said,

    July 15, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    My Seagate Disk..RIP. Thank you all for the condolences. Give me some time. I will re-download everything… it will take a few months, though. I remember the source servers, and I am a download addict. Meanwhile I will keep posting songs.

  6. virendra singh verma said,

    July 16, 2010 at 7:37 am

    दूर से आये थे साकी
    सुन के मैखाने का नाम

    अफ़सोस

  7. Ronojoy said,

    July 20, 2010 at 12:11 am

    You can send your hardisk to the data recovery professionals, and they will get the data out for a small cost (usually less than that of the hard disk). Try this before you send your disk back to the manufacturer

  8. July 22, 2010 at 1:12 am

    Sorry for your collossal LOSS of MUSIC which we used to enjoy so much .I was always waiting for your fresh posting to hear some wonderful and rare selection.Do continue the good work as soon as M/s Seagate give you the replacement .Yours sincerely Farrokh Katpitia (katpitia@hotmail.com)
    +1

  9. maald said,

    July 24, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Keep the disk in the freezer for 30 minites or so. And try to use it immediately after removing it. You can try this multiple times.

  10. indianraga said,

    July 24, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    I have tried all the tricks. One person froze his disk for 6 months in snow but to no avail. The freezer trick may work for a few MB of data but not for 300 GB of songs. Anyway, I have started to download the songs all over again. Good news is, I am 25% done.

  11. virendra singh verma said,

    August 13, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    sir request to find about the vintage film…jwar bhata
    we could trace only one song on u-tube
    three in my collection
    not much is known beyond that

  12. Vidisha said,

    January 3, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    Hey,

    When my 1TB WD Hard disk is connected to any PC. It does vibrate (well, like when it reads?) and the light on it is also seen, however it doesn’t get detected on the PC. I have no clue what to do. It is in the warranty. Will I get it replaced? Can WD Hard disks never be repaired?

    Sigh.

  13. indianraga said,

    January 3, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    Of course, you may get it replaced if it is within the warranty period. I got mine in a week or so. However a replacement is not as important as the data on the disks. If your disk contains important data don’t run for the replacement immediately. Try plugging it on a few more PCs/Laptops and see if it is being detected there. Wish you good luck. I can understand your trauma.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

