Adnan Sami & Zakir Hussain : the chosen ones

Some people are born to be self destructive.. like Adnan Sami. Take a look at his career graph. Once known to possess the fastest fingers on the piano keyboard, Adnan Sami took his classical music lessons from none other than Santoor maestro, Pandit Shivkumar Sharma. Two decades ago, in 1990 he, together with Tabla wizard Ustad Zakir Hussain, created music that can safely be termed as sheer magic. It was at a live concert in Karachi, Pakistan. Classical instrumental music, Adnan is playing the piano, cannot get better than this. Wonder why the two magicians never collaborated again. Also wonder why Adnan Sami made a mess of his career and ..personal life.

Adnan Sami & Zakir Hussain – Raga Durga :  Download

Adnan Sami & Zakir Hussain – Folk Tune :  Download

Adnan Sami & Zakir Hussain – Raga Bageshri :  Download

Adnan Sami & Zakir Hussain – Dhun in Raga Khamaj :  Download

indianraga

19 Comments

  1. March 10, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    This is a treat for the ears of any music lover. I would like to repeat what i have said earlier that this work that you are doing is historic in importance for reviving popular interest in hindustani classical music.
    What is required now is wide publicity of this web site of yours so that more and more music lovers get involved in it. I personally, have told all my friends and reletives about the rich treasure of classical music that is available at this website. And whosoever has opened this site has thanked me for introducing it.

  2. indianraga said,

    March 10, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Thanks for the kind gesture Bali ji. This blog is good pastime for me. And if others enjoy it too, it makes me happier.

  3. Nikhil Joshi said,

    March 10, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Thank you very much for sharing this and other beautiful music! Fantastic album!! I personally feel that one should not mix Adnan’s personal life with his music. Just my thinking.
    Keep uploading similar great music for all of us! Thanks once again.

  4. drewfbush said,

    March 15, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    I love this type of music and your site is so helpful for helping me to find more. Thanks so much for this wonderful post.

    http://www.adiosanticipado.wordpress.com

  5. AJ said,

    March 17, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Buddy you simple rock! You collection is far far from amazing. However I am facing this mighty problem. I cannot download any of the music in your blog. Tried all possible alternatives. Can you please help?

  6. indianraga said,

    March 17, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    You may also try this :

    Right click the arrow icon given besides each song name, and then click “Save Target As..” (in IE) or “Save Link As..” (in Firefox).

    Hope this helps you.

  7. AJ said,

    March 17, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Hipeee! It works in IE. And lord Good Lords, you are one helluva treasure chest ya! What a bloody collection!!! I THANK al my stars for having landed into your darn page ya! God BLESS you. Keep doing this Good Work!

  8. Shauqeen said,

    March 28, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    Man I was looking for this for long time
    Thank You

  9. Pinakin said,

    April 11, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Hello,

    Thanks for your blog and a wonderful collection. I noticed all downloads are ripped at 16kbps. Can we get the entire album downloaded in a high bit rate. Please let me know.

    Thanks & regads,

  10. indianraga said,

    April 11, 2010 at 9:29 am

    As you may see, about a thousand songs have already been posted on this blog and more are being posted at regular interval. Most of these songs are high duration songs (15 min – 60 min). You can imagine the web space required for these files, if encoded at say, 128 kbps. There is a limit of server space and bandwidth usage with free web host servers.

    Moreover, all the songs that I post are for sampling purpose only and encoded for smooth online streaming at all internet speeds. I take special care that they can be heard with clarity on laptop and PC speakers. Also, this is copyrighted stuff and best I can do is provide full version of the songs instead of 1 min clips. Visitors are expected to buy the original CD, if they like the music here.

  11. IQBAL NUSRAT said,

    April 16, 2010 at 8:13 am

    THE MUSIC IS AS GOOD AS THE REMARKS OFFERED. THIS KIND OF MUSIC DID NOT REALLY NEED A TABLA MAESTRO LIKE ZAKIR HUSSAIN TO ACCOMPANY. I HAVE NO COMMENTS ON A SHISH OF PANDIT SHIV KUMAR SHARMA LIKE ADNAN SAMI.

  12. Prasad Kailaje said,

    April 18, 2010 at 11:07 am

    I cant thank you enough nor stop gushing about your blog to my freinds. You are enriching my life in every visit to your blog. Combination of Piano & Tabla is heady.

  13. Asif said,

    April 23, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    can anyone advice me how to get hold of the video of that concert. If I’m not making mistake it was back in 1992 in PTV.

  14. Shoqui said,

    July 22, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    I m proud that finally today I got these tunes by this site coz wounder since 90

  15. Kumar said,

    September 2, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    Thanks for providing these tunes. This is exactly what I was looking for.

  16. Minaz Khan said,

    June 30, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    A Beautiful album, I remember having this album on a Thomsun cassette, not only was it a great album the recording on that cassette was great, somehow I lost the cassette and now thanks to you for making this available.Thanks

  17. Vijayendran said,

    October 30, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Discovered an Absolute Treasure Trove in indianraga.

    WOW !!!!!!

    Thanks a ton Team Indianraga

    Kudos to you

  18. Sunita said,

    February 24, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    I can’t thank you enough. May god bless you and adnan as well. Its a tribute to listen to this music early morning.

  19. Ghayur said,

    September 4, 2012 at 1:41 am

    I was searching for this for long time thanx


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

