Anokha Ladla : Raga Darbari’s favourite Kid

Raga Darbari Kanada has very often been described as the King of all Ragas and also, the Raga of the Kings. Here listen to a very famous KhayalAnokha Ladla‘ sung by various artists at different times and also in different styles. Some say it is a song on Lord Ram‘s childhood, ‘anokha ladla khelan ko mange chanda’ as in the Ramayana. The song was immortalised when Ustad Bade Ghulam Ali Khan presented it in his own inimitable style. Bade Ghulam Ali Khan was the renaissance man of hindustani classical music. He was one of the few artists who among themselves saw the transition of classical music from the courts of the kings to the common man.

Bade Ghulam Ali Khan :  (Download)

Nazakat & Salamat Ali Khan :  (Download)

Vilayat Khan (Sings as he plays the Sitar) :  (Download)

Balqees Khanum (Semi Classical) :  (Download)

Shahida Minni (Semi Classical) :  (Download)

Tina Sani (Semi Classical) :  (Download)

It is interesting and almost amusing to note how artists have improvised upon the song according to the need and occasion without allowing the basic raga structure to go haywire.

Comments are welcome.

indianraga

12 Comments

  1. s v kolhatkar said,

    April 22, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Kahens of each artist is different.The semiclassical singers singing is poor & semi inteligent than classical singers and instrumentalist.Ofcourse they are all great gayak.

  2. IQBAL NUSRAT said,

    June 18, 2009 at 8:54 am

    I GREATLY APPRECIATED THIS COLLECTION BECAUSE I HAD THE GOOD FORTUNE OF LISTENING TO MY OLD FRIEND THE LATE USTTAD VILAYAT KHAN AND ALSO TINA SANI WHEN I HAPPENED TO CALL ON HIS LATE FATHER ANAD MY DEAR FRIEND MR. NASEER SANI , IN KARACHI IN 1989. HEARING TINA WAS AN ASTOUNDING EXPERIENCE BECAUSE OF LIMITATIONS IN LEARNING MUSIC IN PPAKISTAN. I CHERISH THE MEMORIES OF TIME I SPENT WITH VILAYAT KHAN SAHEB STARTING FROM 1945 TO 1947 AND THEN IN BUFFALO IN USA AND HERE IN TORONTO.
    OTHERS IN THIS COLLECTION SALAMAT AND NAZAKAT ALI KHAN ARE ON THEIR PEAK AND BARRE GHULAM ALI KHAN SAHEB’S PERFORMANCE DID NOT SEEM TO CAPTIVATE THE AUDIENCE –VER UNUSUAL

  3. IQBAL NUSRAT said,

    June 18, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    RASHID KHAN’S RENDITION OF JAIJAIWANTI IS SUPERB . I THINK IT SUCCESSFULLY CONVEYED THE SWAROOP OF THE RAGNI AS DEPICTED IN THE SHASTRAS—- A SUBTLE EXPRESSION OF CARNAL DESIRE BY THE LOVERS WITH A TOUCH OF PATHOS.
    IN EARLY FORTIES JAJAIWANTI BECAME VERY POPULAR FOLLOWING THE FAMOUS RECORDING OF ‘ MORAY MANDIR UB LO NAHEEN AYEE ‘ BY THE LATE USTAD FAYYAZ KHAN . THIS RAGNI WAS MOST COMMONLY PERFORMED IN RANGEELA OR AGRA GHARANA. BUT FOR A TASTE OF KAIRANA GHARANA ONE MUST LISTEN TO PANDIT AMARNATHJI. HE SANG HIS OWN TEENTAL BANDISH ‘ BIDHNA AISI KABHI NA KEEJE—‘ HIS GURU USTAD AMIR KHAN SAHEB’S BILAMPAT IN JHUMRA TAAL IS ABSOLUTELY MARVELLOUS

  4. indianraga said,

    June 19, 2009 at 9:29 am

    @ Iqbal Nusrat

    Sir, I am speechless. Never knew such knowledgable people visit my site. You seem to be a true rasika of hindustani classical music. My foray into classical music is as old as this blog (i.e 2 years). At that time I was thinking of a theme for my blog and classical music just happened to be it. I am quite a novice that way. I am still discovering new ragas and new artists everyday.

    I am sure your views will benefit other visitors on this site. Thanks for visiting and putting your thoughts here.

  5. khurjawalagyan said,

    July 21, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    I want to salute your work. DEEVANGI hai YEH, WAH!

  6. GYAN PODDAR said,

    November 2, 2009 at 7:46 am

    I could not understand why do you make such great efforts. You are really a MIRAKI. YOU alongwith your work is highly appreciated. Your approach on any topic is quite good. It explain A-Z or lots and more which we do not know. I want to see you personally. Pls get me your address and oblige. I want to salute you personally for such working.

  7. indianraga said,

    November 2, 2009 at 9:54 am

    @ GYAN PODDAR

    I’d rather call myself a “Swiss Knife” for people who are new to classical music. My effort is nothing when compared to many others. It is only that I have a big collection of Hindustani classical music and this is my way of sharing it with others. I am a computer geek too, hence the tips and tricks section. I spend just a few hours every week on this. :-)

  8. Raghuraj Singh said,

    August 26, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    simply great

  9. Shikha Sen said,

    November 19, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    Hi, I have used Bade Ghulam Ali Khan’s rendition of Anokha Ladla, in a film and would like to get permission to do so. Could I please trouble you to let me know who owns the copyright? Thank you,
    Shikha Sen

  10. indianraga said,

    November 20, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    You may contact Bade Ghulam Ali Khan’s grandson for this. You may do this via his facebook page. He is Ustad Raza Ali Khan.

    http://www.facebook.com/raza.a.khan1

  11. Shikha Sen said,

    November 23, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    Thank you.

  12. m said,

    October 3, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    Nice website.
    rag darbari is a favourite to me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

